“App-ocalypse”

Recently came across an interesting article, reporting on some actual empirical data about “app” purchasing and actual usage in the real world. On the one hand, the piece reported a huge number of app purchases/downloads by the average user (like dozens and dozens). This is definitely not how I have used my iPhone(s) for the past few years.But, then they discussed actual usage of those purchases/downloaded apps:

But how many apps do people actually use? According to Flurry, the average consumer uses only 15 apps per week.

Now, this is much more in the realm of how I use the iPhone….and brings up a question I’ve had in the back of my mind for some time now: apart from games, how do developers break out in the iPhone app market, now that all of the most obvious utilities and applications have already been written? For someone like me, I barely even bother thinking about apps any longer; I’ve got what I need, it works, and I don’t need to waste more time/screen space looking for something I don’t need. What is funny from this article, though, is that the whole thing is motivated by their advocacy for smarter search functions that would put people in contact with more relevant, but undiscovered, apps. In my view (really, my “experience” is more like it), though, people aren’t using only 15 apps in a week because they can’t find any better ones. Rather, they are using 15 apps or under a week because they don’t have any need for anything else! No real point here, just some thoughts off the top of my head.

bb

via App-ocalypse | TechCrunch.

Leave a Reply

